federation university

Schools & 
Departments @Federation university

Federation University is based in Ballarat, VIC,  providing tertiary level and vocational education. Federation University Australia came into being, after the University of Ballarat merged with Monash University, Gippsland campus in 2013. Enrollment is approximately at 23,000 students consisting of 12,000 higher education students and 11,000 TAFE students. The list below is not complete,  a snapshot view of courses at undergraduate Bachelor, Master, Ph.D, Doctorate level courses is provided.


  • Ballarat
  • Western Victorian Campuses
  • Mount Helen campus
  • Gippsland campus


SMB campus is set among the heritage buildings of Lydiard Street Sth including the former School of Mines and Industry (left), former Supreme Court and former Ballarat Gaol (rear)

  • Camp Street Campus – located in central Ballarat, this campus houses the Arts Academy. The campus consists of the Old General Post Office Building, the Old Courthouse, and several newer buildings which were completed in 2002.
  • SMB Campus – located in central Ballarat and incorporates the original School of Mines Ballarat and the Old Ballarat Gaol. The campus offers training from Certificate level through to Advanced Diploma and Degree level study.

Western Victorian Campuses 

  • Horsham Campus – offers TAFE courses and a Higher Education course in Nursing.

Mount Helen campus 

Located in Mount Helen, 15 km south of Ballarat The university’s largest campus, it has two residences, Peter Lalor Hall and Bella Guerin Hall. Its programs include the School of Education and Arts; School of Health Sciences; School of Science, Information Technology and Engineering; and the Business School.

Gippsland campus 

The Gippsland Campus is located in the township of Churchill in the foothills of the Strzelecki Ranges. The campus is home to over 2,500 students and approximately 400 staff

The campus was formerly Monash University, Gippsland campus, but became part of Federation University Australia on 1 January 2014.